DoesTheMath
Menu

Samsung WW22K680…A

Filed with DOE as WW22K680*A*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.

288 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.25 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 2.2 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WW22K680*A*

Checking the SAMSUNG WW22K680*A*? This standard-size front-loading washer uses 288 kWh of electricity a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. It uses 2,596 gallons of water a year at DOE's test use. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.25, below its class median of 2.76.


Energy and water per year

288 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 90 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

2,596 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.25 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
4
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
2.2 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,195–$1,879 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)


What these figures mean

The 288 kWh figure covers the washer, the electric water heater that heats its water, and the electric dryer. The registry does not publish this figure. This site computed it from the registry's IMEF of 2.25 and the model's capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 2.2, at DOE's test use. The source is DOE's Compliance Certification Database (CCD), retrieved 2026-10-25. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 90 kWh a year. That value counts the machine and its electrically heated water alone, with the dryer left out. The gap between 90 kWh and 288 kWh is the dryer's share under the test conditions. How the yearly energy and water figures are calculated sets out the steps behind both figures.

Read the rest

The 2,596 gallons figure comes from the model's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, of 4. This site multiplied that value by the 2.2 cubic-foot capacity at the same DOE test use. The result is a total under test conditions, not a meter reading from any home. The cost of this water is not stated on the page. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so the page gives no estimate. A reader who knows the local water and sewer rate can apply it to 2,596 gallons.

The class here is the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size. Within that class, this model's IMEF of 2.25 ranks 282nd highest. A higher IMEF means more cubic feet washed per kilowatt-hour, so 2.25 sits below the class median of 2.76. The model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, where 37 models in the class sit. The installed price range appears in its own block with its source and date, as a modeled range rather than a quote. Running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on the reader's own utility electricity tariff, so the page computes it from the reader's ZIP code. Other models in the class can be checked from all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated