DoesTheMath
Menu

Samsung WH46DBH55…E

Filed with DOE as WH46DBH55*E*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.

438 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 3.10 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.6 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WH46DBH55*E*

This page checks the Samsung WH46DBH55*E*, a standard-size front-loading washer. At DOE's test use, it uses 438 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, and 3,935 gallons of water. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 3.1, the 5th highest of 360 in its class.


Energy and water per year

438 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 95 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

3,935 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
3.10 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
2.9
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
4.6 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,192–$1,801 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)


What these figures mean

The 438 kWh figure is calculated by this site and is not listed in the registry. It uses the registry's IMEF of 3.1 and a capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 4.6. The calculation assumes DOE's test use and includes the energy to dry each load in an electric dryer. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 95 kWh a year for this model. That figure covers the washer and its electrically heated water alone, with the dryer left out. The gap between 438 kWh and 95 kWh reflects the dryer's share under the test's assumptions. Both figures assume electric water heating, so a home that heats water with gas falls outside their scope. The page on how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated lists each input.

Read the rest

The 3,935 gallons a year comes from the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. This model's IWF is 2.9, and this site multiplies it by the 4.6 cubic-foot capacity at DOE's test use. The result is a test-condition figure, so a household that runs more or fewer loads will see a different total. The page does not state a water cost for those 3,935 gallons. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost here would only be an estimate. The running cost of the 438 kWh is also left out of this text. It depends on your own utility electricity tariff, so the page computes it from the ZIP you enter.

Among the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size, this model's IMEF of 3.1 ranks 5th highest. The class median IMEF is 2.76, so this model's 3.1 sits above the middle of its class. A higher IMEF means more laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, with the drying energy counted in the result. This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, while 37 models in the class sit at that minimum. The minimum value itself is not part of the data behind this page, so the gap to it is not stated. To compare other registered models, see all clothes washer pages on this site.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated