Samsung WF90F53xDx
504 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 3.10 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.3 cubic feet.
For a second check on this washer: at DOE's test use, the Samsung WF90F53xDx uses 504 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. It also uses 4,534 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 3.1, ranking 5th highest of 360 standard-size front-loaders.
Energy and water per year
504 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer
DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.
The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
4,534 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 3.10 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 2.9
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 5.3 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.84
Installed cost and service life
Not published: Installed cost range
NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.
Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.
Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)
What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- Samsung WF56H91…A 533 kWh a year
- Samsung WF90F53…D 504 kWh a year
- Samsung WH46DBH1…E 438 kWh a year
- Samsung WH46DBH1…G 438 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Front-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every Samsung washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
This site calculated the 504 kWh figure; the registry does not publish it. It combines the registry's IMEF of 3.1 with the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5.3 at DOE's yearly test use. IMEF includes the dryer, so the total covers the dryer's share and water heating by an electric heater. A figure for the machine alone is not available for this model. DOE's database files only IMEF. ENERGY STAR is the only source that reports the machine separately, and it lists no matching rating for this model. As a result, the dryer's share of the 504 kWh cannot be separated out here. You can check each step in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25.
Read the rest
The 4,534 gallons figure comes from IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. This model's IWF is 2.9. This site multiplies it by the 5.3 cubic-foot capacity over DOE's yearly test cycles. As with the energy total, this site calculated the figure; the registry did not file it. The figure applies only at DOE's test use. A household running a different number of loads will not match it exactly. The cost of this water is not stated. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so the page gives no amount for the 4,534 gallons. To check the figure, apply your local water and sewer rate to it yourself.
The class is the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size, and its median IMEF is 2.76. This model's IMEF of 3.1 is above that median and ranks 5th highest in the class. It is also rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, while 37 models in the class are at that minimum. The minimum value itself is not available in this data. No installed price range is published for this model. The cost database needs the washer's own yearly energy, which is missing for the ENERGY STAR reason given above. The running cost is not stated in the text either. It depends on your own utility electricity tariff, so the page calculates it from your ZIP. Other models are listed on the other clothes washer pages.