DoesTheMath
Menu

Samsung WF50A85…A

Filed with DOE as WF50A85**A*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.

505 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.92 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WF50A85**A*

Checking the Samsung WF50A85**A*? At DOE's test use, this front-loading washer uses 505 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. It uses 4,278 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.92, above its class median of 2.76.


Energy and water per year

505 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 110 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

4,278 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.92 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
2.9
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,217–$1,945 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)


What these figures mean

The 505 kWh total is calculated by this site, not by the registry. It combines the registry's IMEF of 2.92 with a capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5, at DOE's test use. The inputs come from the DOE Compliance Certification Database, retrieved 2026-10-25. Because IMEF counts drying, the total includes an electric dryer's energy for each load. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 110 kWh a year for this model. That figure covers the washer and its electrically heated water alone, with the dryer left out. Read the two figures as different scopes, not as competing measurements. The steps behind the total are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Read the rest

The 4,278 gallons total is also this site's calculation. It uses the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, of 2.9, applied to the 5 cubic-foot drum at DOE's test use. That makes it a test-condition figure; a household running more or fewer loads than DOE assumes will use a different amount. The cost of that water is not stated on this page. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any figure would be an estimate. A reader checking this model can apply the rate on a local water and sewer bill to the yearly gallons.

Among the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size, this one ranks 33rd highest by IMEF. Its IMEF sits above the class median stated above, and above the federal minimum IMEF for its class. In the class, 37 models are rated at that minimum. The yearly running cost of the 505 kWh is not stated in the text. That cost depends on the reader's own utility electricity tariff, so the page computes it from the reader's ZIP instead. The installed price range appears in its own block with its source and date; it is a modeled range, not a quote. Other washers are listed on all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated