Samsung WF45R61…A
Filed with DOE as WF45R61**A*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.
455 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.92 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.5 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (1)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- WF45R61**A*
For anyone checking the SAMSUNG WF45R61**A*: at DOE's test use it uses 455 kWh a year, with an electric water heater and dryer. Water use at that test use is 5,974 gallons a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.92, the 33rd highest of 360 front-loading, standard-size models.
Energy and water per year
455 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 95 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
5,974 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.92 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 4.5
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 4.5 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.84
- More than one filed rating
- The registry lists more than one rating for this model; this page shows the least efficient one.
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,193–$1,806 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)
What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- Samsung WF45M55…A 455 kWh a year
- Samsung WF45N63…A 455 kWh a year
- Samsung WF45R63…A 455 kWh a year
- Samsung WF45T62…A 455 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Front-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every Samsung washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
The 455 kWh figure is computed by this site, not taken from the registry. It combines the registry's IMEF of 2.92 with the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 4.5, at DOE's test use. That yearly total counts the washer, its heated water and an electric dryer together. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 95 kWh a year. It covers the machine and its electrically heated water alone, dryer not included. The difference between these figures reflects the dryer's portion at test use. The registry lists multiple ratings for this model; this page shows the least efficient rating. Its source is DOE's Compliance Certification Database, retrieved 2026-10-25; see how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.
Read the rest
The 5,974 gallons yearly water figure is also computed by this site, not published by the registry. The registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, is 4.5 for this model. This site applies it to the 4.5 cubic-foot drum at DOE's test use. The water and sewer cost of those 5,974 gallons is not stated here, because no free national source publishes local water and sewer rates. The electricity cost of the 455 kWh is not stated in the text either. It depends on your own utility electricity tariff, so the page computes it from your ZIP code. The installed price range sits in its own block, with its source and date, as a modeled range rather than a quote.
Its IMEF of 2.92 sits above the class median IMEF of 2.76. Among the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size, it ranks 33rd highest by IMEF. It is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, where 37 registered models sit exactly at that minimum. The rank refers to the IMEF of 2.92 shown on this page. No class median or rank for IWF is available, so this model's IWF of 4.5 is not placed within its class. Other models in the class can be checked from all clothes washer pages.