Samsung WA52M77…A
Filed with DOE as WA52M77**A*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.
745 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.2 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (1)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- WA52M77**A*
Checking this SAMSUNG WA52M77**A* washer's figures? With an electric water heater and an electric dryer, it uses 745 kWh a year at DOE's test use, plus 6,596 gallons of water. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06, above the 1.57 median of 870 top-loading, standard-size models.
Energy and water per year
745 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 165 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
6,596 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 4.3
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 5.2 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.57
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,143–$1,670 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)
What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- Samsung WA52B76…A 745 kWh a year
- Samsung WA52DG55…A 745 kWh a year
- Samsung WA52M86…A 745 kWh a year
- Samsung WA52T76…A 745 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Top-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every Samsung washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
The 745 kWh figure covers the washer, its electrically heated water and an electric dryer, all at DOE's test use. It is this site's calculation, not a registry value. It uses the registry's IMEF of 2.06 and this model's capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5.2. The energy inputs come from the DOE Compliance Certification Database (CCD), retrieved 2026-10-25. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 165 kWh a year for this model. That number counts the washer and its electrically heated water alone, with the dryer left out. The difference between the two figures is the dryer's share under the same test assumptions. The method behind the yearly energy and water figures sets out each step of the calculation.
Read the rest
The 6,596 gallons of water a year is also this site's calculation, not a registry value. It combines the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, of 4.3, with the 5.2 cubic-foot capacity. The water and energy figures use the same test use, so both describe the same yearly set of loads. The page does not state what this water costs. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost figure here would be an estimate. A plumber, seller or homeowner who wants a cost can apply the 6,596 gallons figure to the local utility's own water and sewer rates. Those rates are not available in this page's data.
Among the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size, this model's IMEF of 2.06 ranks 37th highest. The class median IMEF is 1.57, so this model sits above the median. It is also rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class. Of the 870 models in the class, 652 are rated at that minimum. The minimum value itself is not available in this page's data. The running cost is not stated in this text, because it depends on the reader's own electricity tariff. Instead, the page computes it from the reader's ZIP code. You can compare other models in the class through all clothes washer pages.