DoesTheMath
Menu

Samsung WA50M74…A

Filed with DOE as WA50M74**A*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.

716 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WA50M74**A*

Checking the SAMSUNG WA50M74**A*? At DOE's test use, this top-loading washer comes to 716 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, and 6,342 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06, against a median of 1.57 for top-loading, standard-size models.


Energy and water per year

716 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 125 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

6,343 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
4.3
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,128–$1,610 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)


What these figures mean

This site computes the 716 kWh figure; the registry does not publish it. The inputs are the registry's IMEF of 2.06 and the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5, at DOE's test use. Because IMEF counts drying, this yearly figure includes the electric dryer's share. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only value for this model: 125 kWh a year. It covers the machine and its electrically heated water alone, with the dryer not included. The larger figure includes the dryer; the smaller one does not. Neither figure applies as stated to a home with a gas water heater or a gas dryer. The registry data come from DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25.

Read the rest

The 6,342 gallons a year is also this site's calculation. It applies the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, of 4.3 to the 5 cubic-foot drum at DOE's test use. A household that runs more or fewer loads than the test assumes will use a different amount. The page does not state a cost for this water. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost figure here would be an estimate. Readers who know their local rate can apply it to 6,342 gallons themselves. The steps behind both yearly figures are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Among the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size, this washer's IMEF of 2.06 ranks 37th highest. The class median is 1.57, so this model sits above it. A higher IMEF means more laundry washed per kilowatt-hour. Of the 870 models, 652 sit at the federal minimum IMEF for the class; this model is rated above that minimum. The installed-cost range in its own block is a modeled range, not a quote. This text does not state a running cost. It depends on the reader's own electricity tariff, which the page applies to 716 kWh using the reader's ZIP. Other models in the class appear under all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated