Samsung WA50A54…A
Filed with DOE as WA50A54**A*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.
716 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (1)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- WA50A54**A*
Checking the Samsung WA50A54**A*? With an electric water heater and an electric dryer, it uses 716 kWh a year at DOE's test use. It also uses 6,342 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06. That is above the median of 1.57 for top-loading, standard-size washers.
Energy and water per year
716 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 120 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
6,343 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 4.3
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 5 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.57
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,129–$1,606 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)
What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- Samsung WA45N71…A 644 kWh a year
- Samsung WA49B5205A 702 kWh a year
- Samsung WA50M74…A 716 kWh a year
- Samsung WA50N73…A 716 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Top-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every Samsung washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
This site calculates the 716 kWh figure; the registry does not publish it. It combines the registry's IMEF of 2.06 with this model's capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5, at DOE's test use. Because IMEF counts drying, that total includes the dryer. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 120 kWh a year for this model. That covers only the machine and its electrically heated water, without the dryer. So the gap between 120 kWh and 716 kWh is mostly the dryer's share under the same test use. The registry values come from the DOE Compliance Certification Database (CCD), retrieved 2026-10-25. The page on how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated shows each step.
Read the rest
This site also calculates the water figure of 6,342 gallons a year. It uses IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. For this model the IWF is 4.3, applied to its capacity of 5 at DOE's test use. A lower IWF means less water per cycle for the same drum size. This page does not state a water cost. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost would be a guess. Readers can apply the rate on their own water and sewer bill to 6,342 gallons. The figure assumes DOE's test use, so a household running more or fewer loads will get a different total.
This model's IMEF of 2.06 ranks 37th among the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size. The class median is 1.57, so this model sits above it. Its IMEF rating is also above the federal minimum for its class, while 652 of the 870 models sit at that minimum. The rank compares rated IMEF only and does not reflect water use or price. This text does not state a running cost. That cost depends on the reader's own electricity rate from their utility, so the page calculates it from the reader's ZIP. The installed price range appears in its own block, with its source and date. Other models are on the list of all clothes washer pages.