Samsung WA45M70…A
Filed with DOE as WA45M70**A*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.
644 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.5 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (1)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- WA45M70**A*
Checking the SAMSUNG WA45M70**A*? At DOE's test use, it takes 644 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, and 5,708 gallons of water. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06, above its class median of 1.57.
Energy and water per year
644 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer
DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.
The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
5,708 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 4.3
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 4.5 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.57
Installed cost and service life
Not published: Installed cost range
NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.
Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.
Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)
What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- Samsung WA45K71…A 644 kWh a year
- Samsung WA45K76…A 644 kWh a year
- Samsung WA45N71…A 644 kWh a year
- Samsung WA49B5205A 702 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Top-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every Samsung washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
The 644 kWh figure is computed by this site, not filed by the registry. It combines the registry's IMEF of 2.06 with the model's capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, which is 4.5. The result is scaled to DOE's test use for one year. Because IMEF folds the dryer in, the total covers the washer, an electric water heater and an electric dryer together. A figure for the machine alone is not available for this model. DOE's database does not split it out; only ENERGY STAR does, and it lists no matching rating for the WA45M70**A*. For the same reason, no installed price range is published here, since the cost database needs that machine-only figure. The source is DOE's database, retrieved 2026-10-25. The steps are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.
Read the rest
The 5,708 gallons yearly figure comes from the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. This model's IWF is 4.3. This site multiplies it by the 4.5 cubic-foot drum at DOE's test use. Because IWF is set per cubic foot, a larger drum at the same IWF draws more water in a year. A household running more or fewer cycles than the test assumes will see a different total. The cost of the 5,708 gallons is not stated. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so the page does not estimate a charge. That cost depends on the reader's local utility, which this registry data does not cover.
Among the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size, the WA45M70**A* ranks 37th highest by IMEF. Its 2.06 sits above the 1.57 median and above the federal minimum IMEF for its class. In the same class, 652 models are rated at the federal minimum. A higher IMEF means more laundry washed per kilowatt-hour under the test. The rank compares rated IMEF only; it does not cover water use, price or anything outside the registry. The running cost is not stated in this text, because it depends on the reader's own electricity tariff. The page computes it from the reader's ZIP instead. Other models in the class are listed under all clothes washer pages.