DoesTheMath
Menu

Maytag V21aBa59(3B)

902 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 1.57 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.8 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (2)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • MVW5430M**
  • MVW5430P**

The Maytag V21aBa59(3B) top-loading washer uses 902 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer at DOE's test use. It uses 9,204 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 1.57, the federal minimum for its class and equal to the class median.


Energy and water per year

902 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

9,204 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated exactly at the federal minimum IMEF for its class, like many others; no rank is claimed inside that tie.

What you can do. Federal minimum means this model uses as much energy as the law allows for its class. 218 washers in the same class file a higher IMEF; at the same drum size and use, a higher IMEF is less energy a year. See the most efficient washers in each class

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
1.57 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
6.5
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
4.8 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

This site calculated the 902 kWh total. The registry does not list it. The calculation applies the model's IMEF to its capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, which is 4.8, at DOE's yearly test cycle count. IMEF includes the energy needed to dry each load, so part of that total belongs to the electric dryer. We can't say how large that part is for this model. No machine-only figure is published, because DOE's Compliance Certification Database files IMEF alone. ENERGY STAR reports the washer's own share separately, but it lists no matching rating for this model. For the same reason, the page shows no installed price range. The registry data was retrieved on 2026-10-25. The page on how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated sets out each step.

Read the rest

This site also calculated the 9,204 gallons yearly figure. It is based on the model's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, which is 6.5 for this model. That rate is applied to the 4.8 cubic-foot drum at the same test cycle count. The result describes DOE's test use and was not measured in any one home. The cost of this water is not stated. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so the page gives no estimate for this model. The IWF and capacity behind the figure are both registry values, so you can check them against DOE's own filing. The same rating covers the units sold as MVW5430M**, MVW5430P**.

This model is compared with the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size. The median IMEF across that class is 1.57, the same value this model has. Of those models, 652 are rated exactly at the federal minimum IMEF for the class, and this model is one of them. The page claims no rank among the tied models, because the registry rating does not tell apart the models that share it. The running cost is not stated here either. It depends on your own utility's electricity tariff, so the page calculates it from the ZIP code you enter. You can check other models in the same class through the index of all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated