Maytag V19zBG51(3B)
759 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.3 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (1)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- MVW7232H**
If you are checking the Maytag V19zBG51(3B), sold as MVW7232H**, these are its registry-based figures. At DOE's test use it takes 759 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, plus 6,723 gallons of water. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06, above its class median of 1.57.
Energy and water per year
759 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 270 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
6,723 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 4.3
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 5.3 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.57
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,136–$1,762 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- Maytag V19zBE65(3B) 745 kWh a year
- Maytag V19zBE66(3B) 745 kWh a year
- Maytag V19zBG52(3B) 759 kWh a year
- Maytag V19zBG53(3B) 759 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Top-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every Maytag washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
This site calculated the 759 kWh figure; the registry does not publish it. It combines the model's IMEF of 2.06 with its capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5.3, at DOE's yearly test use. Because IMEF includes the dryer, the total covers drying the load as well as washing it. ENERGY STAR files a separate figure of 270 kWh a year. That figure covers only the machine and its electrically heated water, without the dryer. Use 270 kWh to check the washer alone and 759 kWh to check washing and drying together. Only the larger figure includes the dryer, and the two come from different filings. The DOE Compliance Certification Database values used here were retrieved on 2026-10-25. The page on how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated sets out each step.
Read the rest
This site also calculated the 6,723 gallons a year. It uses the model's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, of 4.3. The calculation applies that IWF to the 5.3 capacity at the same yearly test use as the energy figure. The result describes DOE's test conditions, and a household that runs a different number of loads will use a different amount. The cost of 6,723 gallons is not stated here. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost would be an estimate. Electricity has the same limit, because the running cost depends on your own utility tariff. For that reason the page works out the running cost from your ZIP and does not state it in this text.
The class is the 870 models registered as top-loading washers of standard size. By IMEF, this model ranks 37th highest of 870, and its 2.06 is above the class median of 1.57. 652 of the 870 models are rated at the federal minimum IMEF for the class, and this model is rated above that minimum. The rank reflects rated efficiency under DOE's test, not measured use in a particular home. The installed price range is shown in its own block, together with its source and date. It is a modeled installed-cost range, not a quote. Pages for other models are listed under all clothes washer pages.