DoesTheMath
Menu

Maytag V14CBK514(3B)

759 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.3 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • MVWB835D*+

For anyone verifying the Maytag V14CBK514(3B): at DOE's test use, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, it uses 759 kWh a year. It uses 6,723 gallons of water a year under the same test. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, ranks 37th highest of 870 top-loading, standard-size models.


Energy and water per year

759 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

6,723 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
4.3
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
5.3 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The 759 kWh figure is this site's calculation, not a registry value. It combines the model's IMEF of 2.06 with its capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, which is 5.3 here, at DOE's test use. The page on how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated sets out each step. Because IMEF folds the dryer in, the 759 kWh includes the dryer's share and does not describe the washer alone. A machine-only figure is not published for this model. DOE's database files only IMEF. ENERGY STAR is the one source that splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating. An installed price range is also not published, because the cost database needs that machine-only yearly energy. The registry values come from DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25.

Read the rest

The 6,723 gallons yearly figure is also this site's calculation, not a registry value. It uses the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. For this model the IWF is 4.3, and the site combines it with the 5.3 cubic-foot capacity at DOE's test use. The figure therefore applies to that test use, not to a particular household's number of loads. The cost of this water is not stated on the page. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so the page does not estimate an amount. A reader who knows the local water and sewer rate can apply it to the 6,723 gallons figure directly. The same test-use basis applies to the energy figure described above.

Among the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size, this model's IMEF of 2.06 ranks 37th highest. The class median IMEF is 1.57, so this model is rated above the median. It is also rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, where 652 of the 870 models sit. The rank compares registered IMEF only and covers no other feature. Running cost is not stated in the text. It depends on the reader's own utility electricity tariff applied to the 759 kWh figure, so the page computes it from the reader's ZIP. Other models in the same class can be checked through all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated