DoesTheMath
Menu

Maytag H18vBA57(3B)

534 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.76 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • MHW8630H**

Checking the Maytag H18vBA57(3B)? With an electric water heater and electric dryer, DOE's test use gives 534 kWh of electricity and 4,720 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.76, equal to the median of 2.76 for 360 comparable models.


Energy and water per year

534 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 159 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

4,720 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.76 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
3.2
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

This model's yearly energy use lies outside the range NLR REMDB's cost model was fitted on, and the range is not stretched past it.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The Maytag H18vBA57(3B) has a capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5. Its yearly energy of 534 kWh applies to a home with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. This site computed it, not the registry, from the registry's IMEF and capacity at DOE's test use for yearly cycles. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25. ENERGY STAR files a machine-only figure of 159 kWh a year, which covers the machine and its electrically heated water but not the dryer. The gap between the two figures is therefore the dryer's share under these test conditions, and this page does not state it as a separate number. Homes with a gas water heater or a gas dryer are not covered, and values for them are not available.

Read the rest

The yearly water figure is 4,720 gallons at DOE's test use. This site computed it from two registry values. One is IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, which is 3.2 for this model. The other is the capacity of 5 cubic feet. The method behind the yearly energy and water figures is set out on its own page. The cost of this water is not stated, because no free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, and this page does not estimate an amount. The installed price range is also not published. This model's ratings lie outside the range on which the cost database's model was fitted, and that range is not stretched past it.

The Maytag H18vBA57(3B) is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class. It is compared with the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size. Its IMEF of 2.76 ranks 101st highest of 360 and equals the class median of 2.76. In the same class, 37 models sit at the federal minimum. The yearly running cost of 534 kWh of electricity depends on your own utility electricity tariff, so the page computes it from your ZIP and the text names no amount. Rates differ by utility, and none is assumed here. For other models in the registry, see the list of all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated