DoesTheMath
Menu

Maytag H18vB843(3B)

455 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.92 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • MHW5630H**

Checking the Maytag H18vB843(3B) (sold as MHW5630H**)? At DOE's test use, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, it uses 455 kWh of electricity and 4,248 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.92, above its class median of 2.76.


Energy and water per year

455 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

4,248 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.92 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
3.2
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
4.5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

This site calculates the 455 kWh figure; the registry does not publish it. The calculation uses the registry's IMEF of 2.92 and its capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 4.5, at DOE's test use. IMEF includes the dryer, so the figure covers washing, heating the water and drying. It assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer. A machine-only figure for this model is not available. DOE's database (CCD) files only IMEF. ENERGY STAR is the one source that reports the washer's own energy separately, and it lists no matching rating for the H18vB843(3B). For the same reason, no installed price range is published for this model. The steps are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated. Source: DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25.

Read the rest

The 4,248 gallons a year is also this site's calculation, not a registry value. It applies the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, of 3.2 to the 4.5 cubic-foot drum. It uses the same number of cycles a year as the energy figure. The figure therefore assumes DOE's test count of loads, not a household's own count. The water cost is not stated on this page. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so no amount is estimated here. A reader who knows their local water and sewer rates can apply them to the 4,248 gallons figure themselves.

DOE's registry groups this washer with the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size. Within that class, its IMEF of 2.92 ranks 33rd highest of the 360. It is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class. 37 models in the class are rated at that minimum. A higher IMEF means more laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, with the dryer included. The yearly running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on the reader's own utility electricity tariff, so the page works it out from the reader's ZIP code. Other models in the same class have their own entries in the index of clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated