LG WT5680H…A
Filed with DOE as WT5680H*A. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.
620 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.38 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (1)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- WT5680H*A
To verify the LG WT5680H*A: at DOE's test use, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, it uses 620 kWh a year. It uses 5,458 gallons of water a year on the same basis. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.38, ranked 10th highest of 870 top-loading, standard-size models.
Energy and water per year
620 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 135 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
5,458 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.38 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 3.7
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 5 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.57
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,126–$1,617 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- LG WT1501C 558 kWh a year
- LG WT1801H…A+ 607 kWh a year
- LG WT7200C 620 kWh a year
- LG WT7500C 645 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Top-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every LG washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
The 620 kWh figure covers the washer, its electrically heated water and an electric dryer used after each load. This site calculated that figure; it is not a value the registry lists. The inputs are the registry's IMEF of 2.38 and a capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5. Both inputs come from the DOE Compliance Certification Database, as retrieved on 2026-10-25. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 135 kWh a year for this model. That figure covers the machine and its electrically heated water alone, with the dryer not included. The gap between 620 kWh and 135 kWh comes from including the dryer in one figure and leaving it out of the other. The method is set out in how this site calculates yearly washer energy and water.
Read the rest
The 5,458 gallons a year is also this site's own calculation, made at DOE's test use. It combines the 5-cubic-foot capacity with the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, which is 3.7. A household that runs more or fewer loads than the test assumes will use more or less water. The page does not state what that water costs. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so a cost for 5,458 gallons is not available here. Energy to heat the wash water is already counted in both electricity figures, assuming an electric water heater.
Among the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size, the median IMEF is 1.57. This model's IMEF of 2.38 is above that median and above the federal minimum for its class. Ranked by IMEF, it is 10th highest of the 870. Of those models, 652 are rated at the federal minimum, so most of the class sits at the level this model exceeds. A higher IMEF means more laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, under DOE's test. The yearly running cost is not stated in this text, because it depends on the reader's own electricity tariff. The page computes it separately from the reader's ZIP code. Other models in this class are listed on the clothes washer model pages.