LG WM8100H…A+
Filed with DOE as WM8100H*A+. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.
525 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.92 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.2 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (2)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- WM8100H*A
- WM9000H*A
If you are checking the LG WM8100H*A+, it uses 525 kWh of electricity a year at DOE's test use. That figure assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer; water use is 4,909 gallons a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.92, above its class median of 2.76.
Energy and water per year
525 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 120 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
4,909 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.92 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 3.2
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 5.2 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.84
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,234–$2,045 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- LG WM6500H…A 505 kWh a year
- LG WM6998H…A 505 kWh a year
- LG WM9500H…A 586 kWh a year
- Maytag H18vB841(3B) 455 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Front-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every LG washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
This site calculates the 525 kWh total. The registry does not publish it. The calculation uses the registry's IMEF of 2.92 and the washer's capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5.2, at DOE's test use. IMEF counts the dryer, so the total assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer. ENERGY STAR files a separate figure for the machine and its electrically heated water alone: 120 kWh a year, dryer not included. The difference between 525 kWh and 120 kWh is the dryer's share under the test assumptions. Neither figure fits a home with a gas water heater or a gas dryer, and this page has no figure for that setup. The source is DOE's Compliance Certification Database, retrieved 2026-10-25. The method is set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.
Read the rest
At the same test use, this washer uses 4,909 gallons of water a year. This site calculates that figure from the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, of 3.2. It also uses the 5.2 cubic-foot drum. This page does not state the cost of that water. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost shown here would be an estimate. If you have a local water and sewer bill, you can apply that rate to 4,909 gallons. The registry listing for WM8100H*A+ also covers units sold as WM8100H*A, WM9000H*A, so these figures apply to those model numbers too.
This model's IMEF of 2.92 ranks 33rd highest among the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard-size washers. The class median IMEF is 2.76, so this model is rated above the median. It is also rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class. 37 models in the class are rated at that minimum. The rank compares registry ratings only. It does not describe how a unit performs in a given home. You can find other models in this class among all clothes washer pages. The text does not state the running cost of 525 kWh, because it depends on your own utility's electricity tariff. The page calculates it from your ZIP instead. The installed-cost range in its own block is a modeled range, not a quote.