LG WM3270C
Filed with DOE as WM3270C*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.
455 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.92 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.5 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (3)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- WM3180C*
- WM3270C*
- WM3275C*
If you are checking the LG WM3270C*, it uses 455 kWh a year at DOE's test use, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. It uses 4,248 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.92, above its class median of 2.76.
Energy and water per year
455 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 90 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
4,248 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.92 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 3.2
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 4.5 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.84
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,184–$1,751 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- LG WKEX300H…A 505 kWh a year
- LG WM3080C 434 kWh a year
- LG WM3470C 505 kWh a year
- LG WM3500C 455 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Front-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every LG washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
The 455 kWh figure is computed by this site and is not taken directly from the registry. It combines the registry's IMEF with the model's capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, which is 4.5 here. The total covers the washer, its electrically heated water and the electric dryer that removes the remaining moisture. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 90 kWh a year for this model. That number counts the washer and its electrically heated water alone, without the dryer. The difference between the two yearly figures is mainly the dryer's share, because the dryer is what the machine-only figure leaves out. The registry inputs come from DOE's Compliance Certification Database (CCD), retrieved 2026-10-25. The registry also lists this entry as WM3180C*, WM3275C*.
Read the rest
The 4,248 gallons figure is also this site's own calculation from registry data. It uses the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, which is 3.2 for this model. That factor is multiplied by the 4.5 cubic foot capacity and by DOE's yearly test cycle count. The result describes water drawn at DOE's test use, not a metered reading from any particular home. This page does not state a cost for the 4,248 gallons a year. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost figure would be an estimate. The method behind the yearly energy and water figures sets out each step of both calculations.
Among the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size, this washer has the 33rd highest IMEF. Its IMEF of 2.92 compares with the class median of 2.76 given above. It is also rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, while 37 of the 360 models are rated at that minimum. A higher IMEF means more laundry washed per kilowatt-hour under the same DOE test, not a promised result in a given home. The running cost is not stated in this text, because it depends on your own utility electricity tariff. The page computes it from your ZIP instead. Other models in the same class appear on the clothes washer pages.