DoesTheMath
Menu

GE Profile G49A_2_R

702 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.9 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • PTW605B*R***

If you are checking the GE Profile G49A_2_R, it uses 702 kWh a year at DOE's test use with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, and 6,216 gallons of water. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06. That ranks 37th highest of the 870 top-loading, standard-size models.


Energy and water per year

702 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 158 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

6,216 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
4.3
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
4.9 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,111–$1,619 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The registry does not print the 702 kWh figure. This site computed it from the registry's IMEF and the model's capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 4.9, at DOE's test use. The source is DOE's Compliance Certification Database (CCD), retrieved 2026-10-25. That total assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer. ENERGY STAR files a separate figure of 158 kWh a year. It covers the machine and its electrically heated water alone, with the dryer not included. The larger figure includes the dryer and the smaller one leaves it out, so the gap between them is the dryer's part. The data does not break that share down any further. The full method is on the page that explains how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Read the rest

Its IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, is 4.3. This site applied that factor to the drum's 4.9 cubic feet at DOE's test use. The result is 6,216 gallons a year, a figure computed here rather than taken from the registry. Your own yearly total will differ if you run more or fewer loads than the test assumes. The page does not state a cost for this water. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost shown here would be an estimate. If you have a local water and sewer bill, you can apply its rate to 6,216 gallons yourself.

The registry lists 870 models as top-loading, standard size, and this washer's IMEF of 2.06 ranks 37th highest among them. The class median IMEF is 1.57, which places this model above the median. It is also rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, where 652 models in the class sit. The rank measures efficiency on DOE's test only. The registry lists this model as sold under PTW605B*R***. Running cost is not stated here because it depends on your own utility's electricity tariff, so the page works it out from your ZIP. The installed price range appears in its own block, with its source and date. It is a modeled range, not a quote. You can find other models on the all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated