DoesTheMath
Menu

Costway FP11222US-GR

260 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 1.25 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A compact top-loading washer (under 1.6 cubic feet). Drum: 1.1 cubic feet.

If you are verifying the COSTWAY FP11222US-GR, it uses 260 kWh a year at DOE's test use. That figure assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer. It uses 3,732 gallons of water a year under the same test use. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 1.25, equal to its class median.


Energy and water per year

260 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

3,732 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
1.25 Compared only with other top-loading, compact washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
11.5
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
1.1 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.15

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

This site calculated the 260 kWh figure; the registry does not publish it. It combines the registry's IMEF of 1.25 with a capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 1.1 at DOE's test use. IMEF includes the dryer, so the figure covers washing, electric water heating and drying the load. It is not the washer's own consumption. DOE's database publishes no machine-only figure for the FP11222US-GR. Only ENERGY STAR reports the machine's share separately, and it lists no matching rating for this model. For the same reason, an installed price range is not available, because the cost database needs that machine-only figure. The inputs and steps are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Read the rest

This site also calculated the 3,732 gallons figure, not the registry. It uses IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. For the FP11222US-GR, the IWF is 11.5 at a capacity of 1.1 cubic feet. The yearly total applies only at DOE's test use. A household that runs more or fewer loads will use a different amount. The cost of that volume of water and sewer service is not stated on this page. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost figure here would be an estimate.

Among the 48 models registered as top-loading, compact, the class median IMEF is 1.25. The FP11222US-GR is rated at 1.25, which equals that median. It ranks 15th highest IMEF of 48 in this class. It is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, where 12 models in the class sit. The federal minimum value itself is not available in this data. The running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on your own utility's electricity tariff, so the page calculates it from your ZIP code. Other models in the same class are listed on all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated