DoesTheMath
Menu

BLACK+DECKER MFC120-DU1421BS/C14E-US

449 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 1.84 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 2.8 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • BCW27MW

If you are checking the Black+Decker MFC120-DU1421BS/C14E-US, sold as BCW27MW: at DOE's test use, it needs 449 kWh a year. That figure assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer. It uses 3,882 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 1.84, against a class median of 2.76.


Energy and water per year

449 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

3,882 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated exactly at the federal minimum IMEF for its class, like many others; no rank is claimed inside that tie.

What you can do. Federal minimum means this model uses as much energy as the law allows for its class. 323 washers in the same class file a higher IMEF; at the same drum size and use, a higher IMEF is less energy a year. See the most efficient washers in each class

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
1.84 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
4.7
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
2.8 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The 449 kWh figure is computed by this site, not taken from the registry. It combines the registry's IMEF of 1.84 with the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 2.8, at DOE's yearly test use. Because IMEF folds in the dryer, the yearly figure covers drying the load as well as washing it. The registry data behind it comes from DOE's Compliance Certification Database, retrieved 2026-10-25. A figure for the washer's own electricity, without the dryer, is not available for this model. Only ENERGY STAR splits the machine's own share out, and it lists no matching rating for this model. The dryer's share inside the 449 kWh therefore cannot be separated on this page. The steps behind the yearly figure are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Read the rest

The yearly water figure of 3,882 gallons is also computed by this site from registry values. It starts from the IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. For this model the IWF is 4.7, applied to the 2.8 cubic-foot drum at DOE's yearly test use. The figure reflects that test use, not a count of any one household's loads. The cost of this water is not stated on this page. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so no amount is estimated here. A reader who knows the local rate can apply it to the 3,882 gallons figure directly.

This washer is compared with the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size. Across them the median IMEF is 2.76, while this model is rated at 1.84. A higher IMEF means more laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, so this model sits below the class median. It is rated exactly at the federal minimum IMEF for its class, a position held by 37 models in the class. Because those models tie, no rank inside the class is claimed for this washer. The running cost is not stated in this text, because it depends on the reader's own utility electricity tariff. The page computes it from the reader's ZIP rather than estimating an amount. Pages for other washer models are collected under all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated