Amana H18vD743(3B)
460 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.76 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.3 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (1)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- NFW5800H**
The Amana H18vD743(3B) uses 460 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, and 4,059 gallons of water, at DOE's test use. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.76, equal to the class median of 2.76.
Energy and water per year
460 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 123 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
4,059 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.76 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 3.2
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 4.3 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.84
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,243–$2,128 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- Samsung WF56H91…C 590 kWh a year
- Amana H18vD742(3B) 460 kWh a year
- Amana H18vD744(3B) 460 kWh a year
- Amana H18vD745(3B) 460 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Front-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every Amana washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
The 460 kWh figure is computed by this site, not published by the registry. It combines the registry's IMEF of 2.76 with the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 4.3, at DOE's standard yearly test use. It assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer, so the dryer is part of the total. ENERGY STAR files 123 kWh a year for the machine and its electrically heated water alone, dryer not included. The two figures come from different sources, so this page does not state the dryer's exact share. The DOE CCD data was retrieved on 2026-10-25. The steps behind the calculation are described in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.
Read the rest
The 4,059 gallons figure is also computed by this site. It uses the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, of 3.2, multiplied by the capacity of 4.3 and by the same DOE yearly test use. It describes the test assumption and not any one household, so real use can differ with how often the machine runs. The cost of this water is not stated. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, and this page does not estimate a price for the 4,059 gallons.
The registry lists this model as sold under NFW5800H**. It is compared with the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size. The class median IMEF is 2.76, and this model's IMEF of 2.76 is equal to it, so it is neither above nor below the median on that measure. Running cost is not given in this text because it depends on your own electricity tariff. The page computes it from your ZIP code instead. A modeled installed-price range appears in its own block with its source and date. Other models are listed on all clothes washer pages.